DAAD scholarship for development-related postgraduate courses

The DAAD scholarship information packet for academic year 2014/2015 is already out. I was a recipient of the same scholarship back in 2007 to 2009 to pursue a MSc in Environmental Governance degree. I went to the University of Freiburg, which I consider to be a ‘German Ivy League’. Fine, it’s a bit of a stretch, but still…

If you want to learn from a respectable university on a full ride including tuition AND stipend, are averse to student loans that can weigh down your career options and financial security, and have been dreaming of experiencing Europe in its full glory, a DAAD scholarship might just be your Mercedes Benz to Germany’s education Autobahn.

Did you study in Germany through a DAAD scholarship? How do you think did it benefit you and your career? Any tips to future scholarship applicants? Please share them in the comment section below.

One response

  1. Hi Andrew,

    Here’s a repost of the questions I asked you via email :D Hope someone else gets to read this :)

    QUESTIONS
    1. Do you need to learn German (at least B1) to apply?
    2. Is it better to get a few units first in a relevant postgrad in the Philippines before applying for one? (this is the advice I got for Erasmus grants)
    3. What kind of background do Filipino applicants who apply to economics MA programs usually have in terms of work experience/academics, etc ?

    ANSWERS
    1. No, German is not a prerequisite to applying for DAAD. In fact, they provide a German language course for 2 or 6 months prior to the start of a program as part of the scholarship grant.
    2. I’m not really sure. I didn’t have any post-grad units when I applied to my program. Other DAAD scholars didn’t have post-grad units, as far as I know. But now that you’ve mentioned it, I know of two Pinoy Erasmus scholars who indeed have been doing a Master’s program before doing the Erasmus program. Maybe it’s just a coincidence.
    3. One applicant I know of had a BS in Agricultural Econ I think, and worked at NEDA.

    there’s no one surefire way to get a DAAD scholarship. I say just go for it and good luck!

    cheers,
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 816 other followers

