PhD and Philippines

My blog posts have been coming few and far between. It’s because “I’m too busy” the perennial and always-valid excuse. It’s late Sunday morning and in my do-nothing mode. As I write this, I realized that blogging is a refreshing break from bearing with the Facebook noise- egos, emos, and mostly a combination of both.

For the past three weeks I have been working hard on my PhD. It was a struggle to put my finger on a concrete topic during the first semester. The mound of literature I’ve been tunneling through seemed to have collapsed on me. Perhaps inspired by the story Chilean miners rescue, I emerged alive from the information rubble. My rescuer is the book Debating Governance, and the author Jan Kooiman and his socio-political approach to governance to be precise. The book of Harriet Bulkeley and Michele Betsill is also very helpful. That can form part of my dissertation’s acknowledgement.

I finally came up with my third research proposal, entitled “Local governance of climate mitigation: Forms of governing, interaction, and action in Hamburg and Stockholm”. I’ve also translated it in German, courtesy of a colleague: Lokale Governance des Klimaschutzes: Regelungs-, Interaktion, und Handlungsformen in Hamburg und Stockholm.” It’s a good start.

In 20 days I will be flying to the Philippines for Christmas holidays. Before I get excited in anticipation, I need to ties loose odds and ends like sending my scholarship application, writing a report, and ironing out plans during the holidays.. And hopefully some more blogging in between.

2 thoughts on “PhD and Philippines”

  1. Hi Agnes,

    My dissertation is on hold indefinitely. I’ve started working again since April. I’m contemplating whether to continue with the PhD after a few years, maybe still with cities/local governance as the concentration of analysis.

    Ask NEDA Agri Staff or RDCS regarding mainstreaming of climate change in planning. They have projects on this.

    Cheers.

  2. hi andrew! i find your dissertation topic interesting. In my province, Palawan, I think we have yet to give priority on climate change adaptation and mitigation alongside our very pressing and urgent economic concerns. I hope someday our government finds a way to “mainstream” climate change concerns in its fund prioritization.

Leave a Reply

