Cycling around D.C.

I went on a bike trip this afternoon. My tour guide, Mike, is a city planner of Washington D.C., whom I met through a friend who is now in Hamburg. Naturally he knows a lot about the goings on in the city, from the up-and-coming neighborhoods and likewise the shady areas to avoid.

I’m pleasantly surprised to see quite a lot of green spaces in D.C., where I expected only a lot of high-rise buildings. In fact, the height of buildings are regulated up to five-storeys, I think. This was triggered by the construction of the 12-storey Cairo apartment. Residents protested against this ‘skyscraper’ that led the government to implement a building code. All these of course I learned from Mike. Here are some snapshots I took this afternoon.

1 thought on “Cycling around D.C.”

Leave a Reply

